The results are in…and we have a winner!

The contest to name this blog is over!  It went down to the wire, with suggestions coming in until the last minute (literally).  We received over 50 suggestions, with several people submitting many names.  And the winner is…Artini, submitted by Margaret Burton!  Margaret, we’ll have to figure out a way to get your prize to you.  And just because I like giving prizes, here are a few more:

Most suggestions submitted: Trisha France

Finalists from social media seminar who received votes from the class: Lisa Laird, Amber Wolf and Kelly Rine (okay, Kelly voted for her own name, so I’m going to have to think about this a bit longer)

Special award for using foreign languages in her suggestion: Emilee Landon

Special award for the most clever name that none of the students understood: Michael Rosewall, for Art Link Letter

Here’s the catch, students…to claim your prize, you need to comment on this post.  Yes, I am that devious.

Our little social media experiment has been very interesting so far.  I got 21 separate comments on my first post, so far 7 on my second.  Posts have come from Facebook friends, arts management alums, and students.  My mom commented in person, which counts…kinda. 

As I said in the first post, our mission this semester is to see what works in social media, and what doesn’t.  One of the things I  learned most dramatically this past week was that just putting a blog out there isn’t enough.  I had to really pound on it.  Several days after the first post, when there was one comment and the same person commented later, “is anyone out there?” I learned that social media is only social when you get in there and mix it up in person.  I threatened my classes, brought out the guilt on Facebook and reminded everyone I saw. 

I generally begin my marketing class in the spring with some phrases that students are forbidden to use.  One is “free advertising” (just like lunch, this does not exist).  The other is “Get the word out.”  A common mistake in marketing is to think that just putting the message out into the world is enough.  We’ve posted our event on the website, send out an e-mail blast, and faxed the press release to our local media.  Hands washed of that task…we can now sit back and watch the ticket sales roll in.

The problem with simply getting the word out is that we can’t ensure that anybody will catch it.  Perhaps we need to think and act as if all of our marketing is social media.  If we aren’t thinking interactively on all of our marketing, we are simply broadcasting our message and trusting that somebody will see it AND absorb it AND be motivated by it AND act on it.  That’s a lot to ask.  In all good marketing, we need to mix it up.  And threatening people and bringing out the guilt doesn’t hurt either.

About Ellen Rosewall

I am Professor and Chair of Arts Management and author of Arts Management: Uniting Arts and Audiences in the 21st Century (Oxford University Press, 2013). I believe that arts and culture are undergoing a profound change in the 21st century, and I love talking with people about how we continue to bring arts to our communities and individuals give the brave new world of social media, technology and economic changes. Join the conversation!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The results are in…and we have a winner!

  1. Margaret Burton says:

    Whooo HOOOOO!!!!
    Ellen, I am honored! This calls for a virtual cocktail celebration now, and an overdue face to face celebration VERY soon. 😀

    Margaret

  2. Jean Wentz says:

    Can all respondents on the actual blog be invited to the cocktail party?

    Congratulations, Margaret – it’s a great name! And Michael, I got your Art Link Letter and thought it was VERRRRRY CLEVER.

    Perhaps blogs are dying if you have to threaten people to go on them.

  3. LOL Jean, I don’t think blogs are dying, any more than you could say that Facebook is dying if you have to beg people to join your organization’s page. It’s just that there are (by one count I read) 50 million blogs, and who knows how many Facebook organizational sites and causes. Like any marketing, you have to get people’s attention.

    You know, there’s one prize I forgot: To Jean Wentz, for being the first to comment (and the only one for a while!)

  4. Barb says:

    Ellen, i don’t think blogs are dying either, but you are right, there are sooooo many of them now. I remember one of our AAAE colleagues saying 4 years ago that we’d better hurry getting up a new website, because in 5 years they’d be obsolete. And he was right, wasn’t he? What about blogs? Are they already ‘old hat’? You know, our kids already don’t call or use email – that’s for us old folks. And since we’ve taken over Facebook, I’m wondering how long before they abandon that, too. Food (or virtual cocktails) for thought!

    • Excellent point, Barb. I think that is a subject for the class…and my next post. One thing’s for sure…the advent of social media means that things are constantly changing. Organizations definitely need to keep up! Maybe that is good news for my students…they will be needed!

  5. Margaret Burton says:

    Ok, Ellen– I’ll give you a call, and let’s plan something!

    Meanwhile, regarding the FB “tickler” alluded to by Jean on your FB page— I’ve seen some non-arts marketers use this as a great communication tool, especially with teen & preteen audiences. For instance, snowboarder Shaun White has an excellent FB fan site. He posts something, usually accompanied by a picture, about once a week. Often the post is something like this: Shot of Shaun White goofing around with another celeb—“Kicking back with (insert celebrity) at (insert location & high profile event here)”, or picture on a surf board with his red hair flying: “Hawaii for my birthday! Cowabunga!!!” but often it’s blatant product promotion, “Burton shoot for new white collection line. Who hired these jackals!!”, sending a crazy photo from the session. The fans feel he’s interacting with them personally—- they eat it up, and his products fly off the shelf.

    I’d love to see this technique tried for a theatre or arts series in a college town— Create a FB “cult following” for a great org. While I have a few friends running FB fan pages for arts orgs back in my old stomping grounds, frankly the posts (and many of their websites) seem lackluster. Time, place, ticket outlets… I’d prefer something linking the fanbase to specific PR stories for the production, with background info about performers, making people feel “in the know” about what’s going on backstage.

    Has anyone seen good examples of this? (tell me if I’m getting ahead of the classroom discussion) 😉

    • This sounds like a good topic for a separate post. Stay tuned!

    • Barb says:

      Margaret, have you seen the Stratford Festival’s FB Marketing, or even APT’s? Both offer great hooks for their fans. Stratford runs a “contest” about once a week (or more), and discounts or gives away tickets. I know it’ll draw me in sooner or later, because I can’t resist the marketing.

  6. YAY! That was actually a fun time, looking up those different languages. I’m excited for my prize–and for the rest of this class!

  7. Megan Matthews says:

    Art Link Letter! HA! I got it! Great posts Ellen – you’ve got me hooked. 🙂

  8. Brenda Lee Johnston says:

    I must say that while I like the name Artini-Arts Management with a Twist, I must say I enjoyed the idea of Art Link Letter. I must be an old fart at 29 because I do know who he was. Thank you Bill Cosby for trying to revive an oldie and a goodie.

Leave a Reply

