RockMelting my world

My students have found some very interesting sites this semester.  A couple of weeks ago, Krisi Hipke contributed a new browser, RockMelt, to the discussion.  RockMelt organizes all of your feeds and friends around the edges of the browser, meaning that you can see your Facebook and Twitter updates and which friends are online while you’re working on something else.  Here’s a video about its features:

Right now, RockMelt is still in Beta so is accepting users by invitation only.  I’ve been using it for a few days, and so I’m still getting used to it.  My son approves of the use of Chromium browser technology (they’re on Version 7, for anyone who knows what that means).  I like having all of my feeds on the border, I love the search feature that allows you to preview sites while the search stays up, so you don’t have to go back and forth to Google.  I’m a little distracted by the left border, which is constantly drawing my eye as friends go on and offline.

Social media is a great tool for arts organizations, but only if you keep up with posting and responding to comments.  Smaller organizations, especially volunteer-powered ones, have trouble being consistent with this.  So, a tool like RockMelt has the potential to help by organizing social media and allowing you to see when updates and comments come in without needing to go to Facebook or Twitter constantly.

RockMelt does not seem to be a social network aggregator — you can’t use it (yet?) to update all of your social media with one click.  Still, it seems to be a step in the right direction.

My question for you this week — do you use a social network aggregator?  Which ones have you found effective?

About Ellen Rosewall

I am Professor and Chair of Arts Management and author of Arts Management: Uniting Arts and Audiences in the 21st Century (Oxford University Press, 2013). I believe that arts and culture are undergoing a profound change in the 21st century, and I love talking with people about how we continue to bring arts to our communities and individuals give the brave new world of social media, technology and economic changes. Join the conversation!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to RockMelting my world

  1. I do not use one, but I was very interested when Krisi showed us this in class–but I feel that if I would use it, my life would revolve SO MUCH around sites like Facebook, Twitter, etc, that I would be distracted from other things, such as school work–which is the LAST THING I need right now!! But from an organizational standpoint, I feel that it really would help in updating events and putting all of the information out in the quick click of one button. So I do believe it is a positive thing, but just not for me PERSONALLY, as my ADD may kick in a bit too much 😉

Leave a Reply

